County Clerk
Jason VanderStelt
1087 Newell St, PO Box 885
White Cloud, MI 49349

M-F 8am-5pm

Phone: (231) 689-7235 Fax: (231) 689-7241


The Newaygo County Clerk is an officer of the County as prescribed by State law. Michigan Constitution provides that voters of each county shall elect a Clerk, on a partisan basis, every four years. Duties are prescribed by law and include Clerk to the Newaygo County Board of Commissioners, Clerk of the Circuit Court, Election Board of Canvassers, Clerk of the County Election Commission, County Plat Board, Serves on the County Apportionment Board, and Clerk of the Concealed Weapons Licensing Board.


The Clerk maintains birth and death records, marriage licenses, assumed business names, concealed weapons permits, veteran discharge records, notary commissions, genealogy records, and voter registration records.


The County Clerk is the chief election official of the County, supervises all national, state, and local elections, and is responsible for the administration of the Michigan Campaign Finance Reporting Act and maintains the Qualified Voter File.